wmbr phone or text: 617.253.8810
listen: hi : med : lo
Sun 10:29 PM : now playing:  For Your Pleasure 88.1 fm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The WMBR Noise/Experimental Music Concert Report

  • Monday, May 1:

  • Tuesday, September 5:

  • Friday, May 5:
    • Kazehito Seki (Japan), Gaiamamoo (Japan), Crank Sturgeon, DOG, Walter Wright / Victoria Shen, This Is Not Okay, & angelsbreath-lite - Hotel Vernon, Worcester, more info

  • Sunday, May 7:
    • Gamelan Galak Tika - MIT Kresge Auditorium, 4 pm
    • I Heart Noise Showcase #6 with Skyjelly, Cryostasium, Yoma, Clymtn, & Horse Mode - Zuzu, 10 pm

  • Tuesday, May 9:
    • Non-Event presents: Moondrawn - Cafe Fixe, 7 pm
    • MIT Glass Band concert - MIT Museum, 6-7 pm, free!

Coming Up...

  • Thursday, May 11:
    • Swarm: A roving performance piece for musicians, dancers, and audience-responsive electronics based on themes of insect breeding swarms (mayflies), environmental degradation, & rebirth - Museum of Fine Arts, 6-8 pm, free with museum admission
    • Violet Nox, & Spectramotiv - The Plough and Stars, 10 pm to midnight, free!

  • Saturday, May 13:
    • Timbila and Chartwell Dutiro: A night of music from Zimbabwe and beyond - Lilypad, 7:30 pm

  • Wednesday, May 17:
    • Amanda Palmer, & Edward Ka-Spel (of the Legendary Pink Dots) - Middle East Downstairs

  • Thursday, May 18:

  • Friday, May 19:

  • Wednesday, May 24:
    • Non-Event presents: Tom Recchion and Brendan Murray - Goethe-Institut Boston, 8 pm

  • Thursday, May 25:
    • Mobius presents Concrete Actions in Heroic Encounters: Artists respond to Boston City Hall in an evening of interactive performance art, video, installation, & sound and movement - Boston City Hall, 5-9 pm, free!

  • Saturday, June 3:
    • Birdsongs of Mesozoic, & Audrey Harrer - Once, 10 pm
    • Open Sound presents: Viola Yip, Kirsten Volness, & Cobra (by John Zorn) - Third Life Studio, 8 pm

  • Thursday, June 8:
    • Bastard Noise, Dropdead, Jarhead Fertilizer, Sickness, & Horrible Earth - Middle East Upstairs

  • Saturday, June 10:
    • Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds - Wang Theatre

  • Tuesday, June 13:
    • Non-Event presents: Id M Theftable - Cafe Fixe, 7 pm

  • Wednesday, June 21:
    • Open Sound presents: A special 100 person outside performance of John Cage's Variations III for Make Music Day! - TBA

  • Saturday, July 15:

  • Thursday, July 20:
    • Thurston Moore Group - The Sinclair

  • Wednesday, July 26:
    • Nite Jewel, Harriet Brown, & Geneva Jacuzzi - Once, 8:45 pm

  • Thursday, September 21:
    • Severed Heads - Once, 8 pm

Please Note:
  • Addresses of many Boston area clubs can be found here.
  • Local bands are only listed the week of the show.
  • Additions, changes and corrections for rock/pop/punk shows only can be made by writing to: rock-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming roots/americana/blues/cajun/zydeco shows, please use the address: roots-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming Jazz shows, please use the address: jazz-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming World Music shows, please use the address: world-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about Any Other music shows, please use the address: other-listings email address
Massachvsetts Institvte of Technology ® WMBR is a registered servicemark of the Technology Broadcasting Corporation.  Contact WMBR